Author Topic: This Was Then: The Boys Who Fled  (Read 18 times)

ImogenWarb

• Hi there! :) My name is Dannielle, I'm a student studying Integrated International Studies from Chorlton-Cum-Hardy, Great Britain.
    • View Profile
This Was Then: The Boys Who Fled
« on: August 01, 2018, 10:08:54 AM »
Philip Higgins of Westfield was 13 years old when he was arrested for robbing $40 dollars from a neighborhood store in 1879. One in all six kids in a household of Irish immigrants, his mom was a cotton mill worker and an alcoholic, and his father was in jail when Philip was sentenced to the State Primary College in Monson, a public orphanage which was more and more being used as a dumping floor for younger juvenile delinquents. "A very poor house," learn his intake report; "the boy lacked education and isn't properly fed." Disease or harm in his hip had left him lame, with his left leg shorter than his proper.

Little Tommy Myers of Boston didn_t even know his parents_ names; they were long dead when the lady in whose house he had been dwelling declared she couldn_t keep him any longer. He was 14 when the courts despatched him to Monson.

John Henry Lynes of Northampton was 13 years previous and dealing in a paper mill when he was arrested for assault and battery. He and two friends had thrown a snake, an apple, stones, and clay at an old man driving a crew, startling the horses and throwing the old man into the road. "The agent thinks him not a foul boy, but headstrong and impulsive." He, too, was despatched to Monson.

Fourteen-year-previous John Rome of Pittsfield had misplaced both of his mother and father and was working in a woolen mill when he ran away from his uncle_s dwelling. "Has been wandering about since," wrote the agent. He was despatched to Monson in 1881.